Patch's Guide to the June 5 Election

A look at candidates, measures and propositions included in the June 5, 2012 Primary Presidential Election.

The June 5 Primary Presidential Election is Tuesday, June 5 and to save you some time researching the candidates and the measures you'll be deciding on, Watsonville Patch has put together this guide for you.

The following contests are on the ballot:

  • US President
  • US Senate: Diane Feinstein is the incumbent
  • US Representative: District 20, Sam Farr is the incumbent.
  • State Senate: District 17, Assemblyman Bill Monning, D-Carmel, is competing against Scotts Valley School Board Member Larry Beaman, a Republican.
  • State Assembly: District 30, incumbent Luis Alejo, a Democrat, is being challenged by Republican Robert E "Rob" Bernosky OR District 29, Santa Cruz County Supervisor Mark Stone is up against Tom Walsh, a Republican, and Bob Fultz, a fellow Democrat.
  • Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors: District 2, five men are running for the vacant seat: , Antonio Rivas, , and . The District includes Capitola, Aptos, La Selva Beach, Corralitos and the western portion of Watsonville.
  • State Proposition 28: Reduces the total amount of time a person may serve in the state legislature from 14 years to 12 years. Allows a person to serve a total of 12 years either in the Assembly, the Senate, or a combination of both. Applies only to legislators first elected after the measure is passed. Provides that legislators elected before the measure is passed continue to be subject to existing term limits. (Majority vote to pass)
  • State Proposition 29: Imposes additional five-cent tax on each cigarette distributed ($1 per pack), and an equivalent tax increase on other tobacco products, to fund cancer research and other specified purposes. Requires tax revenues be deposited into a special fund to finance research and research facilities focused on detecting, preventing, treating, and curing cancer, heart disease, emphysema, and other tobacco-related diseases, and to finance prevention programs. Creates nine-member committee charged with administering the fund. (Majority vote to pass)

There are three ways to vote, by mail, early or at the polls, which are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

Mail-in ballots that have not been mailed can be dropped off at either the Santa Cruz County Clerk/Elections Department, 701 Ocean St., Room 210, Santa Cruz, one of the City Clerk's offices in Capitola, Santa Cruz, Scotts Valley or Watsonville, or at any of the 130 voting precincts in Santa Cruz County on Election Day.

To learn more about tomorrow's election, please click here.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »